I am a Python developer who is comfortable working with a wide variety of libraries, including: Pandas, Numpy, Scipy, Scikit-learn, Keras, Matplotlib and Flask. In addition to Python, I have used SQL, JavaScript, HTML, CSS and Java. I think it is fascinating how large, noisy and messy datasets can tell compelling stories through the use of statistical techniques and machine learning tools.

In order to gain a deeper understanding of how to extract actionable insights from large datasets, I completed a data science bootcamp. During the bootcamp, I worked on a project that involved predicting outliers in a time-series by applying various machine learning methods, including random forest and LSTM neural networks.

I am now trying to start an end-to-end project where market risks can be predicted based on readily available online data. This is an exciting path to be on and I am looking forward to contributing my skills and knowledge to challenging projects in the workplace.

Personal life

I was born in New Zealand, however I grew up and spent most of my life in Melbourne, Australia. When I was fifteen years old, I took my first flying lessons, which soon turned into an exciting hobby. After school, I transitioned into commercial flight training and learned a lot about my strengths and weaknesses. I learned to fly an aeroplane before I could drive a car, and I’ll never forget the feeling of taxiing onto the runway for the first time with an empty seat next to me. Taking control of an airplane changed my outlook on life and I hope to return to this exciting hobby in the future.

I decided to study aerospace engineering at university, as I enjoy making things and clearly I am interested in aviation. I was fortunate to have the chance to study in China and The Netherlands, and do an internship in Austria during my years as a student. The time that I spent overseas gave me a strong desire to return to Asia, experience working in a completely different environment and try to pick up a second language.

After graduation, I took an opportunity to live in Japan and teach English for a while. This lead to an opportunity to work in international marketing at a Japanese manufacturing company, alongside engineers. I would have to say it was one of the most challenging periods of my life because it was necessary to adapt to a Japanese working culture and speak Japanese in the workplace, as well learn a lot about battery technology and the business landscape.

These days I spend a lot time reading and thinking about entrepreneurship. It is exciting to see how small teams of people are having a big impact on the global community at large, across every sector.

When I have time, I enjoy travelling to new destinations, DJing, hiking, skiing and writing.